Structure and Organization

Indigenous Languages of Manitoba is under the guidance of a Council of Language Elders. The Council consists of representatives from Winnipeg as well as various communities in Manitoba.

Volunteer Board of Directors

In addition to this Council, ILM has a Volunteer Board of Directors. This board is comprised of six community representatives who are responsible for setting the direction of the organization and reporting back to the Council of Elders.


John Danttouze
Dene Representative
George Fleury
Michif Representative
Victor Harper
Ojibwe-Cree Representative
Grace Schedler
Cree Representative
Melvin Swan
Ojibwe Representative
Kevin Tacan
Dakota Representative


Cree     Dene     Michif     Ojibwe     Inuktitut     Dakota     Ojibwe-Cree